Partnering Institutions

National Mission for Sustaining the Himalayan Ecosystem (NMSHE) was launched as part of the eight missions under the National Action Plan on Climate Change (NAPCC). NMSHE is the only mission under NAPCC with a geographic focus, all the others being theme based. The Department of Science and Technology (DST), Ministry of Science and Technology is coordinating the implementation of NMSHE.NMSHE’s action plan was approved by the Union Cabinet in 2014.NMSHE is a multi-pronged, cross-cutting mission across various sectors. It contributes to the sustainable development of the country by enhancing the understanding of climate change.

In order to address the various technical thematic issues in the Himalayas.NHSME has set up six task forces with coordinating institutions for each one.

For information about six thematic task forces with coordinating and Collaborating Institutes please browse through right side navigation

NMSHE also partners with organization for facilitating capacity building at the state level for adaptation planning and implementation. For Capacity Building Programmes it partners with: Himalayan Environmental Studies and Conservation Organization (HESCO), Indian Mountain Initiative (IMI) and Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi. For Inter-University Consortium on Cryosphere and Climate Change (IUCCCC) it partners with: University of Jammu, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Sikkim University, and University of Kashmir. For State Climate Change Centres/Cells on Climate Change (SCCC-NMSHE) it partners with: Department of Environment, Ecology and Remote Sensing, J&K Department of Environment, Science and Technology, Himachal Pradesh State Climate Change Cell, Sikkim State Council of Science and Technology, Sikkim Mizoram Council of Science, Technology and Environment Planning, Mizoram Directorate of Environment, Department of Forests and Environment, Manipur Department of Science, Technology and Environment, Government of Tripura, Forest and Environment Department, Meghalaya. For International Cooperation it partners with Swiss Agency of Development and Cooperation (SDC), Switzerland.